This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

9.0 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.2
Comfort
8.9
Property location
8.9
Facilities
8.7
Staff
9.2
Value
8.8
Reviews
    David
    cz
    9.2
    17 February 2018
    We were there in January and had some troubles to heat the room to an acceptable temperature. Breakfast room and reception was also not heated, and as the outside temperature was around at 0-5C, it was not really that convenient. Must be a great place to stay in Spring-Fall, though! As mentioned in some earlier comments, the hotel location on booking.com maps is wrong....
    Nice Hotel with great Staff, very helpful + very kind and with OK English knowledge. The area overall is great, the construction work in the neighborhood was mostly done by 02/2018, so it was acceptably quiet. The Hotel property is great and individual, much better than standardized hotel chains!
    cn
    7.1
    8 January 2018
    Room is cold in January
    The room was freezing cold in winter, when we arrived in January. The airco was not working properly, and you have to let the water pipe run for more than 10min to get the hot water.
    The waitress in the restaurant is very nice and helpful. The breakfast is tasty and abundant. The building is beautifully furnished and decorated.
    Gridiron
    cn
    8.8
    6 January 2018
    Beautiful hotel, aspiring to international standards
    Not many staff knew much English (though this is to be quite expected; also, they always had someone somewhere who would come and help out with questions). Otherwise, it was a really pleasant hotel to stay in.
    Really comfy bed; the staff worked really hard to help us in all our needs (questions over transport; booking tickets; etc); great breakfast (once we figured out how it worked!). A beautiful looking hotel that will be in quite a happening little area once all the surrounding boutique shops are filled.
    es
    3.3
    20 December 2017
    Very disappointing
    I travel a lot, both for business and leisure, and I’ve never been so much disappointed with any hotel. First, it is TERRIBLY COLD! May be in summer it is not a problem, but in winter it is unbearable. Because of the type of building it is, your room door takes you straight to the street (there is no roof!). There is an air conditioner in the room, but it doesn’t help much. Second, I booked this hotel because of Spa. It is also in the open air (with 6 degrees temperature!), and tiny. I found it ridiculous. Third, there is no buffet for breakfast. Ok, I am fine with Chinese food, but at least give me some choice! There you can choose from 4 dishes only. They orange juice is of the worst quality. Besides, it is so cold in the restaurant that you have to wear a coat while having breakfast. Fourth, they could clean the rooms better. I stayed there for 4 days, and every day I saw someone’s hair on the floor in the bathroom. I don’t think they ever cleaned the floor during my stay. They don’t even give you an extra toilet paper roll!! As mentioned in many comments here, the construction works are all around. They start early in the morning and make lots of noise. That’s not all, but enough to have an idea I guess. The building is nice, and it looks great on the photos, but don’t be fooled! As a hotel it is horrible, at least in winter season. I haven’t felt so uncomfortable in any hotel ever.
    The building looks nice, though it doesn’t make it a good hotel.
    Keiko
    jp
    8.8
    2 December 2017
    Very nice stay in traditional town area
    I just thought it is a pity for the staff that they have to wake up and wait whole night in the cold reception.
    The style of the building is an old traditional Chinese style but the inside of the each room they renovated in Chinese- modern style beautifully. Although because of the old surface of building, the heat isolation was not good so it was a bit cold in winter in the night time. I had a warm fleece outer for my pajama so it didn't disturb me. I liked the atmosphere inside and outside of the hotel and the staffs were very nice. I arrived at the hotel very late about 11pm, and as other reviewers said, The taxi driver could not find the hotel, so I asked him to make a call to the hotel and the staff came to the street to pick me up. It was very kind and nice that for me, I was solo woman traveler and I did not want to drop me off on the dark quiet street alone. The taxi driver and the hotel staff could not speak English but they were very nice. I think it's not as a service but just people in Chengdu are very nice and kind to others, respect each other, very relaxing and sophisticated. Next morning the other girl staff called the taxi for me to the airport on time, and I enjoyed my short stay in Chengdu very much.
    Youqi
    cn
    10
    29 November 2017
    The breakfast is very good ! You can choose chinese style breakfast , tell the staff your choice then wait !
    au
    10
    27 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Chris
    au
    9.6
    26 November 2017
    Return Stay
    Return Stay - highly recommended
    Rod
    au
    9.6
    20 November 2017
    Near Metro, unique hotel, large room.
    Aine
    ie
    9.2
    19 November 2017
    There is a lot of construction around the hotel, where the surrounding old town streets are getting a shiny revamp, so access from Wuyuegong St wasn't currently possible. I ended up walking around the block twice before finding the way in. As booking.com/google map has the location slightly off: Buddha Zen hotel is on the south side of Wuyuegong St. It is nearly right in the middle of the block between Wuyuegong and Lengjia'an st North-South and Jimna St and Baiyunsi St West - East. While I was there, access was from Jimna St through the market or down Jimna Alley.
    Delicious breakfast and coffee. Very comfy room!
    Chris
    au
    9.6
    15 November 2017
    Lovely old monastery building
    Exceptional staff, lovely atmosphere within an old monastery building, clean and comfortable room and close to local attractions. Other places easy to get to with taxis available at short notice (as the hotel advises, there is some restoration work being done nearby and at the moment you have to walk to/from the street for vehicle access. Should be nice when the work is done. Apart from the vehicle access, any work did not impact on our stay (no noise)
    jongren
    tw
    9.6
    12 November 2017
    Breakfast
    They have displayed all the beautiful Chinese ,traditional cultures;you lived there, you will feel so peaceful & enjoy yourself……。
    Cheyne
    au
    4.6
    11 November 2017
    The hotel is beautiful. Just don't stay there
    The hotel and surrounds are undergoing very major construction. The noise is constant throughout the day and apparently in summer they work through the night. This will continue through 2018. The staff have limited English and paying with credit card was very difficult and complicated. I am in contact with my bank as I found my credit card details were being texted and emailed to others by reception staff when attempting to process pre authorisations on check in and again when trying to pay at check out. I was asked over five times for my pin number and had to visit reception over five times to check out. .
    The hotel is beautiful. It is an historic building. The meals are great. The rooms are traditionally decorated.
    Paula
    nz
    10
    8 November 2017
    just wonderful .. a real home away from home. Excellent, clean, tasteful, historic, friendly,
    Nothing
    Beautiful room, superb breakfasts, congenial dining room .. lots of interaction possible with other guests , very attentive staff on front desk
    Angela M Lees
    au
    9.6
    1 November 2017
    A calm, friendly hotel in a laid back, friendly city.
    It will be easier to find when the building work is finished around the area - at the moment it's a bit of a maze to get in!
    Boutique kind of hotel, with a Buddhist theme, it's absolutely beautiful and an oasis of calm in a busy city. The rooms are built around courtyards, making the whole place seem airy. The room (including the bed) was extremely comfortable and despite the building site surrounding the hotel at the moment, we slept very well and weren't disturbed by noise. The staff recognise you personally and are very keen to help in any way that they can. Chengdu is a wonderful city and extremely friendly, and this hotel is no exception. Breakfast was delicious too, a very good selection for such a small hotel.
    Engchong
    au
    10
    30 October 2017
    Very good experience
    Renovations around the property makes it difficult to find initially
    Daniel
    gb
    10
    30 October 2017
    Brilliant hotel with first class service!
    The staff were superb, very accommodating and always ready to help. The room was amazing, very clean and spacious.
    AKHIL
    in
    8.8
    29 October 2017
    Beautiful & comfortable with excellent location
    Some construction work near hotel
    Location is great.... close to historic monastery & temples
    May
    au
    9.6
    28 October 2017
    Great place
    Beautiful room, friendly staff and amazing restaurant
    au
    6.7
    28 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews
Close